Mana Series Anthology to be Released on Switch

Mana Series – the Other One

When people think of Square Enix RPGs they tend to almost entirely say Final Fantasy. Clearly that’s a right answer but true fans will also proclaim some love for the Mana series. Or the Seiken Densetsu series if you speak Japanese. Starting from the same roots (the first Mana game was called Final Fantasy Adventure) the Mana series grew into its own thing. Think a little bit more action-based than Final Fantasy and you’re there.

Switch it up

Today it was announced that an anthology of the first three games in the series will be coming to Switch. Seiken Densetsu: Final Fantasy Gaiden (aka Final Fantasy Adventure / Mystic Quest), Seiken Densetsu 2 (aka Secret of Mana), and Seiken Densetsu 3 will be sold as a single cartridge labelled the Seiken Densetsu Collection.

Secrets of Mana screenshot from the Mana series

There is a slight inconvenience. There is currently only a launch date in Japan – June 1st. It will be available both physically and digitally for a price of ¥4800 which is currently around £35. It’s fully expected that a more worldwide release will occur at a later date but if you can’t wait you can import. The Switch is region-free so anyone who has learnt Japanese for these very purposes can still enjoy it. That does leave the rest of us currently out in the cold.

New Features

The second and third instalments in the series will now support up to three players. Additionally quick saves have been implemented. You will also be able to listen to the music from the start screen.

Anyone who is lamenting the old skool graphics please bear in mind that like Final Fantasy, the modern titles can’t stand up to the classics!